What Type of Designer Should You Be?

How to find where you fit best in the design industry

Christian Beck
Modus

--

Photos courtesy of the author.

WWhen I interview design candidates fresh out of school I always ask them, “When you get assigned a new project, what part do you hope you get to do, and which part are you secretly praying someone else will do?”

Students are notoriously bad at knowing what type of UX professional they want to be, and they often claim that they love everything and are great at everything. I call shenanigans.

We all have our strengths and passions; being successful and happy requires that you find a career path (and role) that intersects both. I’m going to shed some light on the archetypes in the industry, not only for students but for hiring managers who are unclear where to start when building out a UX org.

When you get assigned a new project, what part do you hope you get to do, and which part are you secretly praying someone else will do?

Obligatory paragraph building up my credentials so you can quickly determine whether or not I’m completely full of 💩:

--

--

Christian Beck
Modus
Writer for

By day, executive designer at Innovatemap where I help tech companies design marketable products. By night, co-founder of UX Power Tools.